Not open for further replies.

Kent Brooks

Resting In Peace
ECF Veteran
Apr 24, 2013
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
www.nicoticket.com
Story to tell...

For those of you that are not familiar with my background, previous to my entry in the world of eliquid manufacturing I was a Licensed Mental Health Professional (PLMHP) in the State of Nebraska. I entered into that profession for lots of reasons, but the primarily reason was my 1st Cousin Josh. I wanted to help people with PTSD.

Here's (a small part of) his story...

(Source)

Nqlvjug.jpg

He always intended to be a policeman. To get there --- with his parents' guidance --- Josh Omvig became a soldier.

"He was a nice young man," Ellen (my aunt) says.

A mother's pained love.

"He was a pretty straight arrow," Randy (my uncle) says.

A father's wounded joy.

They knew Josh experienced combat in Iraq as an Army reservist. By connecting the dots, they concluded their son probably participated vigorously. Too late, they realized the person they got back from the war on terrorism was not the young man they sent.

Sadly, they say, post-traumatic stress disorder was only a vague concept until they saw Josh's world unravel.

"In retrospect, we probably should have pushed harder," Randy says.

His tone conveys little confidence the couple actually believe they could have saved their boy. As they see it, odds weighed heavily against their son.

"I keep thinking about it," Randy says. "But it was a no-win situation for Josh."

The soldier told his mother once he died in Iraq. But he kept living for another year.

Burning desire

Josh, a former Boy Scout with a newspaper route, wanted to join the military early. His parents refused to sign paperwork required of a 17-year-old and made him wait.

"'It is an adult decision. It is seven years of your life,'" Randy remembers telling his son.

Later, the couple insisted their son investigate several branches of the armed forces before making a commitment. And they helped.