Hi, quick maintenance questions!

Status
Not open for further replies.

strawhatlad

Jun 20, 2015
Hey, ECF folks.

I'm new to vaping, and got myself a kanger mini subtank using the sub ohm occ coils. I have a few questions about cleaning and refilling.

I have 3 different juices and I figure I'd be rotating between them, so at what point am I suppose to refill my tanks? Before it goes below the cotton holes on the coil head?

Also, I've been reading about rinsing and soaking the coil head in vodka/alcohol (does rubbing alcohol work?) to clean it out. Now my concern is am I able to do this WITH the cotton still in the coil then let it dry completely, or am I suppose to remove the cotton and only soak the steel piece

And lastly, what is the best way to clean the clearomizer? From my understanding that's just the glass piece?

thanks

Sir2fyablyNutz

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jan 22, 2015
West Virginia, USA
Hi @strawhatlad , I have a few of the Subtank Mini's and use the OCC coils. I usually don't refil my tanks until they are just about out, but it's best to refill with a little in them so you don't chance a dry hit.

I would not use rubbing alcohol to soak the coil head. Even though it mostly evaporates it's not worth the chance that it won't. I have used vodka and it seems to do well. I have soaked a coil in vodka and reused it, the vodka takes away a lot of the flavor trapped in the cotton. Let it dry completely.

As to cleaning I wash mine out whenever I swap juices. (having more than one I don't miss any vape time) Sometimes the glass can be a little difficult to get off and running it under really cold water seems to help.

The OCC coils are easy to rebuild. Check for video's on you tube, and also look for the Kuro Koiler on there.

Good luck in your vape journey.

Trailz

ECF Veteran
Sep 4, 2014
NE OH US
Best practice would be to refill before it drops below the holes in the coil.