Thoughts on closed thread (vaping drying out lungs)...

Status
Not open for further replies.

we2rcool

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Mar 31, 2013
Iowa, IA, USA
Since I'm a newbie, I don't know how to "properly" do this...so I'm just going to do my best (and hope that if I'm not supposed to do this, that a moderator let me know or move/delete my post).

From this thread (which is now "closed") http://www.e-cigarette-forum.com/fo...can-your-lungs-gets-before-having-issues.html ...I would like to add what I feel is integral information.

Yes, it does seem technically possible for vaping to 'dry out' our lungs.

Why?

Because both VG & PG are humectants!

What's a humectant?

Basically, it's any substance or chemical that draws moisture to itself. From here (you can find the same/more detailed information all over the 'net):Saje Natural Wellness | Medical & Natural Glossary | Saje Natural Wellness

Humectant – A product which helps the skin retain moisture. The problem with humectants, including propylene glycol and glycerin is that; although they are most effective when you are in areas with high humidity, if you are going to be in an extremely low humidity atmosphere, such as in an airplane or even a dry room, they can actually take moisture from your skin. Here’s why: Humectants are on the search for moisture that can be absorbed from the environment. If the environment is so drying that there is no moisture to be had, they till get it from the next best source – your skin. When this happens, the ingredient, which is supposed to help your skin retain moisture, instead does the opposite. (Brumberg)