In light of the E-liquid re-call, New standards and protections should be implemented.

Status
Not open for further replies.

f(x)'=cosx

Aug 27, 2011
Ohio
The e-cig community and industry is relatively new, so perfecting the techniques used to make e-liquid and nicotine solutions is a work in progress. But, I believe that we can now start to institute standards and more importantly Quality control aspects. The end user should not be uninformed or misinformed as to what they are inhaling. We are all aware of the Nicotine solution recall that happened recently and the subsequent testing of the nicotine solution. When a nicotine solution contains almost 3 times as much nicotine as reported, there is a sever problem with Quality control and manufacturing techniques. As a chemical engineering student, I study process techniques and Six sigma variation control. I believe that companies who produce the concentrated nicotine solution need to implement much more comprehensive quality control testing, and more reliable manufacturing processes. Additionally vendors who purchase this solution should also institute external testing to make sure the manufacture did not miss anything.

Our community and industry is too important to lose over something as simply as quality control. We do NOT want give congress or the FDA any reason to suspect that E-cigs are overly dangerous and should be banned. Im not sure if anyone will agree with my thoughts, but Im sure we can all agree on safer practices within our industry.

wdave

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Jun 11, 2009
Cincinnati, OH