Hi, my name is ohai, and I'm a newb.

Status
Not open for further replies.

ohai

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Apr 6, 2012
Wichita, KS, United States
So, I've been lurking for about a month now, since before I bought my first ecig. I actually found this forum while I was researching ecigs, trying to decide what to buy, and now of course, I'm hooked on both, so I figured I'd better introduce myself and tell my little story, if anyone's interested.

I smoked for 28 years, starting by swiping my parents cigs (I think most people do), and the only times I've ever been able to stop for any real length of time were during my three pregnancies, due to fears of low birth weight (and the fact that smoking triggered my morning sickness). My oldest son is 23, and a smoker himself now, and I recently caught my middle son, age 14, stealing cigarettes. He started by stealing a few at a time, but has now graduated to blatantly taking entire packs from the carton. Since talking about the health risks were a waste of time (he already knows them, doesn't care), punishing him didn't work, and he keeps finding my hiding places, I have no choice but to quit- I'm not going to be the reason another one of my kids ensnares himself in this addiction.

Part of my problem, though, maybe the whole of my problem, is that I really liked smoking. I always have. I like the act, the taste of the smoke, the feeling in my chest, the whole ritual of smoking, and I really did not ever want to quit. The dirty ashtrays, the smelly hair and clothing, the nasty nicotine yellow haze on walls and windows, hacking cough every winter without fail, the increasing risk of really nasty kinds of disorders, diseases and cancer, the constant drain on my finances- these things were all an acceptable price to pay to me, that's just how much I loved smoking. What is not acceptable, however, is that my two oldest kids are smoking now, and it's my fault, no excuses. I have to quit.