Wick material experiment...

Status
Not open for further replies.

soylent

ECF Veteran
Sep 5, 2009
cincy, oh
Thanks, there is a lot of info there though! I have heard that coffee filters are an option, but I haven't seen anything about it here.

I haven't seen coffee filters either. I think the paper filter kind would burn, but there are all kinds of coffee filters.

IMO the blue foam filler works the best. I've been using it for at least two months will only an occasional flooding. The thread is all screwed up since the OP was banned, but someone posted a link to pics if you want to see it:

http://www.e-cigarette-forum.com/fo...ated-v2-0-slug-search-over-17.html#post949851

I just can't wait to either find material to put in the blank I have, or get the one I'm using low enough to fill with one of the juices I bought. :)

If you're taste testing, you can drip instead of using carts. Just don't put any juice or filler in the cart and drop a few drops directly on the atomizer coil. You'll get about a dozen puffs before you need to add more.

jlarsen

ECF Veteran
Feb 23, 2011
Helena, MT
Cotton burns pretty quick from previous posts I've read. Draws the liquid up and saturates the coil, but in less than an hour they said they started tasted an extreme burnt taste.

"Autoignition temperature (cotton): 407°C (765°F)
Autoignition temperature (for oily cotton): 120°C (248°F)"

There shouldn't be a problem with cotton burning, unless the ejuice contains oil (not recommended), in which case it will very likely burn. But just because it doesn't burn, doesn't mean necessarily that it won't give off a burnt taste, I suppose.

Any any wicking material gives off a nasty taste once it runs dry. Maybe it's just the taste of a dry atomizer itself?

I wouldn't use a cotton ball myself, but I think that a woven cotton wick might work quite well. I'm trying to find some myself, to use in a cart mod.

Uncle Screwtape

ECF Veteran
Oct 17, 2010
NE-IL

danman1453

Mar 31, 2011
PA