Status
Not open for further replies.

renderwerks

Unregistered Supplier
ECF Veteran
Jun 20, 2009
SoCal - The IE
4103647922_a076f8538b_o.jpg

Get out the Kevlar gloves, this baby's HOT!

Altsmoke has a new mod hot off the griddle! I was one of the lucky few to receive a BB for review. Initial impressions are that Altsmoke has a winner on their hands.

So, who am I and what can you expect from my review?

I was a 35 year smoker - 2 packs a day. I have vaped exclusively for about six months now. I have several mods (Silver Bullet, two VP1s & VP2s, and several Coppers). Additionally, I own many 510s, a few 901s and a M401 Dragon.

I'm a Senior Mechanical Designer with 17 years of experience. My review will be a critique from the perspective of an engineer.

For those that want a general, short winded answer; the BB has a robust design, thoughtful choice of materials and is compact and versatile. It gets a thumbs up.

4118167788_d8eee5aa0b_o.jpg

Comfortable and compact in the hand

A few specifics about the BB:

The unit is .85" diameter x 3.55" in length and weighs 2.6 oz with battery; about 3 ozs with a 510 atty and mouthpiece.

• Main shell is CNC Machined from 6061-T6 aluminum
This is an alloy with Magnesium, Silicon, Copper, Chromium and Titanium as it's main elements. It is corrosion resistant, machines well and is considerably hard for aluminum. The T6 designation means it has been heat treated to further increase its hardness.
  • The atty connector is pressed in
There are two basic ways to do this; pressed in or screw in. Normally, a screwed in connector is superior in terms of strength and permanence of mounting. Sometimes, a screwed in connection must be used if the design doesn't have sufficient strength to accept a pressed in connector.