Nicotine poisoning

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ciego

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Nov 29, 2010
A dank basement in SE Minnesota
I am not a doctor, nor do I play one on T.V. Any medical information included in the post was taken from wikipedia.

I got to wondering if using a PV too much could lead to nicotine poisoning. As with many other poisons, there are degrees of intoxication with nicotine, and I think I may have crossed a line somewhere when first starting to vape.

At its extreme, nicotine poisoning can cause seizures and death. However, even low-level intoxication can be unpleasant: heart palpitations, drooling/excessive saliva, a burning sensation in the mouth and throat, nausea, shaking. Remember when you first smoked an analog, how dizzy and nauseated you got? That's nicotine poisoning.

If you suffer from hypertension (high blood pressure), if you have a history of heart ailments or if you're a woman who is nursing, pregnant or who may become pregnant, you really need to consult your doctor before even taking that first vape.

I use prefilled cartomizers; someday soon I will figure out how to fill carts without being able to see, but for the time being I'll use the factory filled. Choosing nicotine strength was a problem; I had a hard time figuring out which strength would be best for me. I think I either ordered too high a concentration, or else I'm using the PV too often/too much.

Nicotine strength in cartomizers I've seen and used ranges from zero, zip nada to 24 mg./l. I thought, since I was a full-flavor 100's, pack-a-day guy that 24 mg. would be ideal. I'm now rethinking that.

My vaping style and frequency seems to be "often and oftener," as I love the flavors. However, by bedtime every evening since I started vaporizing, I have heartburn and other symptoms of mild nicotine poisoning.