New member and lookin to learn some ins n outs of wrapping

Status
Not open for further replies.

hbarron3

Jan 6, 2015
Lubbock, TX
Hello everyone!

Im new to building coils and before I start buying different types of wires n wicks I wanted to get some input from the OGs [emoji6] lol.

My setup as of today is a nemesis mod 18650(efest imr 2500ma) w/ a nimbus rda at ~.7 - .8 ohms w/ ... cotton. I have a Vulcan rda clone as well. I have yet to build the coils on my Vulcan due to my indecisiveness. What im looking for is warm, (not hot), flavorful dense clouds. I plan on using rayan or as i believe is called cellulose cotton? I've seen twisted, flat ribbon, and various ga wires. Im leaning towards flat ribbon kanthol for the extra SA or a parallel coil. Also, inner diameter seems to affect vapor n flavor as well. So if anyone could give me some ideas I wld greatly appreciate it! [emoji106]

I also have a few questions...

1. What is the difference between a dual coil at .45 ohms vs a quad coil .45 ohm (in same atty, using same e juice, with adjustable airflow to support more or less coils)?

2. Does the juice vape differently due to each coil having a different resistance, (since two coil totaling .45ohm, ea. is at .9ohm vs quad at 1.8ohm ea. to make .45ohm), if so how?

3. Is there particular ways to stuff my cotton to maximize vapor/flavor/juice amount? Specially since my Vulcan has a deep well.

drunkenbatman

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jan 26, 2014
It's windy, USA
Hi! First of all, welcome! Second of all, you want rayon -- just make sure it says 100% rayon, some are a weave. To your questions:

1. More surface area for vapor production, eg, you have 2 vs 4 coils all generating vapor as opposed to one. To really get the most out of this, you'll want to up your amperage, but how they're wicked and sizing and such plays a role.