My Story

Status
Not open for further replies.

ElectriSean

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jul 26, 2014
Alberta, Canada
My name is Sean. I am a 40 year old electrician living in Small Town Alberta. I started smoking when I was 12. My parents smoked, my friends parents smoked, many of my aunts and uncles smoked, and most of my teachers smoked. Everyone knew it was bad, and no-one encouraged it, but I doubt it was a surprise to anyone the first time I got caught.

Twenty eight years is a long time to do anything. I loved smoking, and I told myself I would never quit. I didn't want to. When the Anti tobacco fascists started cracking down, I became even more adamant. I have always been a non-conformist, so I used smoking as yet another badge of honour. I am also very introverted, and as smoking became banned in more and more places, I became less and less social. At the end of that particular part of my life I was smoking at least 2 packs a day, spending around $700 a month, and hardly leaving my house except to work. If I couldn't smoke there, I wasn't going.

I had seen those crappy plastic e-cigs on display at the place I bought my smokes for months. I asked the clerk if they worked well, she said she heard they weren't great. On closer inspection I learned that there was no nicotine. I knew that the patch and the gums didn't work very well, and they have nicotine, so I thought there is no way these things would work for me. I need my nic. So I hopped on the net, started looking for something better. I found a lot of stuff. Almost too much. I decided to bite the bullet and order a starter kit for around $50 and a few different flavors of juice. I thought if I could cut my smoking even by half, I would be a lot better off. Financially and in terms of health. Let me tell you, 2 packs a day takes it's toll.