Kayfun vs Aerotank

Status
Not open for further replies.
I recently got a Kayfun lite clone from fasttech. Thanks to a lot to good info here and some excellent youtube videos, I was able to coil, wick (cotton) and vape it within 30 minutes. I have never seen the "real" kayfun, but the fasttech clone seems to be of decent quality. It was actually pretty clean out of the box, though I still washed it. The coil is 2.2 ohm, 9 wrap 30 gauge kanthal on a 5/64 drill bit. I think I could have used a tiny bit more cotton.

I also have a aerotank and I have seen videos on micro coil builds for it. The process seems pretty similar to kayfun.

Now, the question is...

I have seen a lot of posts about leaking Kayfuns (original and clones). Mine also leaks from the airhole, at the base and also right at the bottom where the base joins the glass tank. Now, since this is my first build (though I did pay thorough attention to filling, maintaining vacuum, etc etc)..it could just be my mistake or may be it is to be expected from a FT clone. But it seems a lot of other folks(some who have built it at least a few times) also have leaking issue.

The aerotank on the other hand (though I have not rebuilt it yet), has not leaked on me.

Why would anyone want a $100+ Kayfun or a clone, when one can build a cheaper but not leaky (and equally well performing... at least for me) aerotank type tank? Does the aerotank leak too, unless one is using the factory manufactured coils?

Thanks

Last edited:

Shel

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Dec 23, 2009
Los Angeles
I have two different Kayfun Lite + clones, one clear, one black (all black color, not the black edition), and neither one leaks!

Not sure if I'm just lucky, but I don't think most Kayfun clones leak....

Do you mind if I ask how long your Kayfun took to arrive from Fasttech? I ordered something from them, and I'm in So. Cal, so I'd think it should take about the same amount of time.

Good luck!