From Newsweek writer re. BAT Vype e-cigarette

Status
Not open for further replies.

Simon Akam

Feb 13, 2015
London, UK
Hello,

My name is Simon Akam and I am a contributing editor at the European edition of Newsweek magazine. For the past few months I have been working on a major story about electronic cigarettes, in particular looking at how large tobacco companies are responding to the technology. My prime focus is British American tobacco, who are marketing the Vype product in the UK. I have had extensive access within BAT's next generation products venture.

I am interested to hear the experiences of users of Vype, both the larger ePen and smaller eStick variants. What is is like? How effective is it? How does it compare to other products in the market, especially those from independent producers/mods etc? What about price point, availability etc?

Also, how influenced would you be by a product with a medicines license, as BAT's forthcoming Voke inhaler will have?

I need to hear feedback by the end of next week.

Cheers, and happy to answer any questions about the piece etc. Likewise my first time on this forum so apologies for any breach of etiquette etc.

Simon

Reactions: DrMA

Shirtbloke

ECF Veteran
Apr 26, 2014
UK
Hi Simon. Don't have any experience of Vype stuff myself and I suspect most of the forum members here haven't either.

The people on here are something of a self selecting bunch and tend to be pretty knowledgeable about vaping matters - the Vype seems to be a consumer orientated ecig appealing to the new and inexperienced vaper so I don't know how much feedback you'll get - especially as it's a "Big Tobacco" product which most round here seem to avoid on principle. We've already given them tens of thousands of pounds over the years each and there's a certain amount of resentment about giving them any more.

I have seen the Vype ePen advertised on TV and they must be spending a fortune to promote it though for a starter kit the price isn't bad.