First time ever - box mod, regulated mod, soldering…

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kang

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Mar 19, 2011
Suffolk County, NY
www.sos-k.com
So I've been vaping mechanicals since day one in 2011 and had never even tried a regulated device. I had my eyes on the hana when it first came out but couldn't justify the price tag let alone find one. I don't do clones (don't care if you do though) so I figured, why not just make the thang. Mind you, I've never soldered in my life (but did see my dad do it once when I was like 13)… so at first I was in way over my head. I did probably 2 months worth of research while I compiled the parts and tools I'd need.

Over all I'd say that anybody with steady hands, patience and attention to detail can do this pretty easily. Obviously, research is key as well but that's a given isn't it…

Hardest thing was lining up the charging port to the back of the case and fitting it all in the case (I went with the hammond 1590g so it's pretty small).

Overall I'd say the regulated experience is pretty cool I guess… If I paid 300-350 for it I'd probably be annoyed as my Dominus has minimal voltage drop. Being able to increase the wattage to produce more warmth is cool but I can do that by adjusting my atty build on the mech. I think I enjoyed building the mod as well as the sense of accomplishment more than anything else… and I can solder now whaaat!

Kang

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Mar 19, 2011
Suffolk County, NY
www.sos-k.com
Here are some more pics of the process.

I got the buttons from mouser.com. I think they were like 3 bucks a piece and are the same ones found on the hana. The firing button I got off ebay for about 7 bucks i think. It's not as tactile as the power +/- but I here that version is cheaper and has a tendency to lock up in firing position.