Soldering 510 Sealed Gold Connector

Status
Not open for further replies.

P1NkY

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jul 19, 2011
Planet Earth
How can I confirm that I did not create a short within the connection?

No worries, buddy; if it still works, it ain't shorted!
Mine shorted out for a different reason. I always unscrew my atty from my 2AA box when I put it in my pocket @ my job, for fear of breaking it at the connection if I sit, squat, crouch or whatever (I'm a mechanic). Unbeknownst to me at the time, a tiny metal shaving had lodged itself inside the atty connector between the center post and threads. Next time I screwed the atty on and tried to vape, I got...

Nothing.

Dark LED. Didn't even get warm. Put in a freshly charged 14500. Still nothing.
Thought my atty had died, so I swapped it out.
You guessed it; nothing again.

Luckily I still carry my joye510 for such emergencies, LOL, but still; I was bummed about my now non-working box.

That's the beauty of using protected cells, right there. If I hadn't used protected cells, hopefully the current would have melted the built in master switch, which I think is the path of least resistance in my box.

I'm wondering if adding a micro fuse wouldn't be a good idea; surprised I haven't seen a mod with one yet.

Last edited:

P1NkY

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jul 19, 2011
Planet Earth
Just finished my MV box mod today, be careful when soldering the negative also, connector gets extremely hot and will start to melt box, this mod is awesome, puts my ego extended batt to shame, and it was thirty bucks cheaper.