Status
Not open for further replies.

Parmacrafter

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jul 15, 2009
Parma, Idaho, USA
I decided to put this here to make it easier to find for those thinking about ordering the new Darwin.

First impression:
The Darwin was well packaged and arrived amazingly fast considering it went all the way across the country. I have been vaping for over 19 months and have tried almost every e-cig and mod along the way. I have settled on 5V for my sweet spot and 510 Cartomizers at 3.2 ohm for my best vape combo. I don't do many reviews so please forgive the sloppy format.

My unit arrived with about a 9/10 charge already on it, so of course I had to try it immediately. It took me a couple of minutes to dial in the wattage I wanted to get the best vape possible. I use the 510 Mega Cartomizers from Nhaler (3.2 ohm) and I wanted roughly 5v, so I set the Darwin to 8.6 watts. The dial is very sensitive, so this took a little bit of finesse.

My juice of choice tends to be Malty at 18mg from BWB. As many of you already know it doesn't take much for this juice to taste burnt. Using my old V3 at 6v tended to do just that if I tried to refill a cartomizer even once. Having to switch which mod I use for whichever juice I planned on vaping at the moment was a real PITA. At 5v the Darwin gives this juice everything it needs. Flavor is right on (even 4 refills later on same carto) and vapor production is just as robust as it was on my V3 at 6v. My Darwin is automatically adjusting to the changing resistance in my used carto on the fly so I no longer have to worry about burnt juice as my carto ages. WooHoo! If this was the only upside to owning a Darwin I would be perfectly happy.

Weight: The weight of the Darwin is not bad at all. I have been using a VV Tekk mod for some time now and the Darwin is just about the same weight. It is heavy enough to feel sturdy and well built but not so heavy as to feel like I am carrying a dumbbell in my purse.