Easiest solutions for VG? 12GA Needles? Volume? Weight?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jdmaring

Feb 11, 2014
MO, USA
I've been using 14GA needles with 20ml syringes, the plunger is SO hard to pull and fills very slowly. Been looking for 12GA needles but the seem few and far between. I'm looking into getting bottles for measuring by volume any recommendations? Also for weight what kind of scales are you using? 500+ grams and .01g I assume would be needed? Thanks I am somewhat new to DIY

borno

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Dec 31, 2019
land of pleasant living
I use 10ml disposable pipettes (and reuse them) I pipette by mouth, but they have a nifty thumbwheel thing you can stick on the end that works well (we have them at work) I will probably get one when I have to do more DIY I haven't done much yet. I'm thinking setting the vg someplace warm for a while might help too as it's thick to pipette too.

rob33

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Dec 20, 2009
A World Traveler
I use clear condiment bottles I get from amazon work great for vg/pg, and a 500g scale with 0.01g

If you go this route find the ones with an screw on cover for the spout. I found out the ones with the red push on cover, it gets lost or cracked and then you are without a cover should your pg tip over. Also don't forget to change your recipes to from volume to weight when you go to a scale.

Last edited:

zoiDman

My -0^10 = Nothing at All*
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Apr 16, 2010
So-Cal
I've been using 14GA needles with 20ml syringes, the plunger is SO hard to pull and fills very slowly. Been looking for 12GA needles but the seem few and far between. I'm looking into getting bottles for measuring by volume any recommendations? Also for weight what kind of scales are you using? 500+ grams and .01g I assume would be needed? Thanks I am somewhat new to DIY

I take it you are having trouble with Non-Diluted VG.