Atty Clogged? Or Died?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Butrfly4200

Apr 24, 2010
Milwaukee, WI
I've only been vaping for two weeks, yes, I'm a newb :oops:

I have 3 attys that aren't working (had 4 but got one to work again!) They get hot, but hardly any vape at all...are they clogged or something? Is this fixable?

The "manual" that came with my kit doesn't really say anything about cleaning them. I've blown them out. I'm scared to submerge them in water, alcohol or whatever else people are using. If I'm going to run them under hot water, do I just run the water over the wick part of it, or submerge it? Should it soak for awhile, or just run it under water for a few seconds?

Thanks in advance for your help!

forthwith

ECF Veteran
May 4, 2010
Charlotte, NC
I like to clean mine with a spray bottle full of 70 % isopropyl alcohol. In my tattoo business we use this kind of alcohol often as a skin cleanser. It cleans by evaporating quickly, so it won't damage the mesh on the atty, as you won't need to wipe anything off. I like to saturate the wick and element, then spray through the other side, never touching the wick with my hands, only sprayed alcohol. then blow thru the battery side at a towel, and let it dry battery side down for 1 hour. Using this technique I still use my original 401 atty that came with my starter kit. The 70% and Isopropyl are important. ethyl alcohol will damage the atty..

VaporMadness

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Jan 26, 2010
CA, USA
The "manual" that came with my kit doesn't really say anything about cleaning them. I've blown them out. I'm scared to submerge them in water, alcohol or whatever else people are using. If I'm going to run them under hot water, do I just run the water over the wick part of it, or submerge it? Should it soak for awhile, or just run it under water for a few seconds?