Wicking problem?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello,

I’m fairly new to making my own juice but things were tasting fine up until recently. Then things started to taste a little like cardboard and at first I thought I might have made a bad batch of juice. After trying other juices and having the same problem, I thought I may have wicked it too tightly because when I’ve pulled out the wick it seems to be whiter/dryer than the rest which is saturated. It’s not burning, but it tastes like cardboard. I use Cotton Bacon Prime and I’ve tried a looser wick but I still keep having the same problem. Any other thoughts or ideas? Thanks!

What atomiser are you using?
And was the juice that tastes like cardboard now, tasting fine before?

If I overstuff a coil, I do notice the flavour is a lot more muted.

Yeah it all tasted fine before... I’m using a 22mm Ironsmith Furnace RDA on my squonker. I’ve tried multiple coils too.

If you get your wicking in order and still taste cardboard, consider "vapers tongue" or flavor fatigue. A possibility if using the same flavor at higher concentrations. Usually goes away after a few days and/or a flavor change.

Ah okay very helpful! Is it possibly because I only use 1 or two flavors in my juices at higher concentrations then? Would it help for me to use more flavors at lower concentrations so I don’t get “flavor fatigue” ?

• Agree
Reactions: AngeNZ

AngeNZ

ShutterBug
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Contest Winner!
  • Mar 24, 2018
    New Zealand
    Ah okay very helpful! Is it possibly because I only use 1 or two flavors in my juices at higher concentrations then? Would it help for me to use more flavors at lower concentrations so I don’t get “flavor fatigue” ?

I vaped one diy mix only for 6 months straight ;) I eventually forced myself to make some other recipes that I also enjoyed vaping. Now I have four different mixes on the go every day.