What Percentage Flavour Concentrates To Use?

Dan_V

Mar 14, 2024
I'm very new to DIY e-liquid mixology.
The vape calculator I've been using requires a percentage of flavour concentrate I am intending to use.
To get started I just threw in the number 6 to see what would happen.
Later, I typed the question into Google and all sorts of numbers. It's all over the place.
One source says 15-20% would be about normal for most concentrates. Since I used 6% I can't imagine how strong 20% would be. I'm worried that too much concentrate will be too overwhelming.
Other sites quote 5-10%. So I don't have a clue...

If it is true, as I suspect, that certain brands or certain types of flavour require different percentages - how and where do I go to learn about this?

It all seems very foggy and indistinct to me.

As a guide for your answers, I'm making a 'biscuit' flavour and a 'cool texas tobacco' type. I also plan to make a 'Cigar' type.

At the moment, I am NOT getting complex - I'm simply mixing up one flavour at a time to get a feel for the process...

If you could share what percentages you yourself use, and what kind of flavours you vape, I think that would be a great help.

Thanks.

DavidOck

ECF Guru
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Jan 3, 2013
Halfway to Paradise, WA
If it is true, as I suspect, that certain brands or certain types of flavour require different percentages - how and where do I go to learn about this?

Quite right, some flavor makers are much more concentrated than others.

And good to start your mixing with simple recipes. Get a feel for it, and for the individual flavors.

Most of my mixes don't go over about 15% total flavoring, so if a slightly complex mix, each flavor might be 5% or less.

Join us down here :)

gloopdegurp

DIY Hack
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Feb 3, 2022
Pennsylvania, USA
You can also check out one of the e-liquid recipe sites for information about mixing percentages, such as All The Flavors -

Click on menu,