VX2 vs 510 - I don't get it

Status
Not open for further replies.

Psyc

ECF Veteran
Aug 26, 2009
Sydney, Australia
(Disclaimer: I write posts in a needlessly verbose fashion. I write documentation for a living. :D)

Starting out on the quitting journey (50+ hours now 8-o) I'm a bit perplexed as to how I'm failing at 510 ownership...

I picked up a VX2 from litecigusa. I friggin love this thing. Much thanks to wegster and Figurehead for their long reviews and info, btw! While I do have automatic batteries, I haven't touched them yet aside from making sure they work. Primer puffs just aren't for me. I can set this thing down, grab it 20 minutes later, and it's ready to go on the first draw.

The only downside is that gear for a VX2/J118 isn't anywhere near as widely available as 901/510 fare, and the only provider for it that I've heard good things about is litecig.

Clearly, I needed a solution in case of a ban in the US or something. Everyone loves the 510, and eastmall's $30 PCC sale kind of made up my mind on a secondary. Having read about breaking in the atty I resolved to put down my VX2 for a day and puff on the 510 like mad. Thankfully, I'm using low-strength juice.

The 510 IS the king of throat hit. The problem is that I'm getting insanely inconsistent vapor production. I've had decent hits and virtually vaporless hits. I've had huge someone-kicked-the-back-of-my-throat hits followed by exhaling a small wisp of vapor. Even the best are nowhere near the stuff I see on youtube where it looks someone set fire to their tongue.

Is the atty just not broken in? Is the 510 only revered as much as it is because it's only compared to the 901/40x stuff? Is there a 510 "technique" I'm missing out on? Should I only drip with the 510?

If you've made it to the end of this, give yourself a pat on the back. :)

jimik

ECF Veteran
Jul 17, 2009
Spring Hill, Fl