Throat hit alternatives to nicotine

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gitum

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jul 23, 2013
Ca
I'm trying to finally take nicotine out of my juices and break the habit of needing to vape/smoke. I know that nicotine gives a good throat hit on e-liquids and it makes it hard to quit vaping with nicotine because when the throat hit is gone and it feels like a big part of the sensation is just missing. Is there anything else I could add to my e-liquids to simulate that throat hit?

And on a side note, does capsicum simulate a good throat hit? On DIY supplies from mtbakervapor they claim you can add it for throat hit. Does anyone have confirmation as to whether or not it works nicely?

LoveVanilla

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Nov 23, 2013
Texas
I have no personal experience, but one e-cig poster said he used 1% Jalapeno juice for throat hit. While I wouldn't try personally, I don't believe he was kidding. A quick search should find his post...

Koolada is supposed to provide menthol "experience" without menthol taste. Potentially seems this could push some flavors/sensations to the back of the mouth/throat. I tried at 0.5% but wasn't detectable -- going to try at 1% next.

Been feeling under the weather and dropped precipitously from 12mg/ml to 3mg a few days back -- with surprisingly little apparent trouble. And just quit a 30 year pack-a-day habit in October at 18mg. Think I'll try to stay around this level. Wonder what I'll do with the purchased nicotine? Not such a bad problem in the larger scheme of life... Good luck.

Last edited:

DenaInWyo

ECF Veteran
Jul 2, 2013
Casper Wy
I am having this problem as well. I have gotten myself down to 6 mg but find 0 mg very unsatisfying. It's not only the throat hit but the flavor also seems muted. I don't DIY so I'm pretty much at a stalemate.