The future of vaping

Status
Not open for further replies.

joc3721

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Aug 27, 2011
Colorado
Like a lot of folks on ecf, I have been successful quitting smoking (so far) via vaping. I'm only two months in with vaping and down to one cigarette a day, the first one in the morning. It seems it will be easy to drop this one, I'm just finishing a pack that been sitting around for weeks.

It's amazing to me how effective vaping is as a smoking cessation method. Nothing else comes close. I was a 1.5 pack a day smoker for 20+ years and tried all the other ways to quit. Nothing worked. Stopped almost on day one with vaping. Again, amazing given the highly addictive nature of smoking and the poor results from most of the other quitting alternatives.

As a newbie, I've been thinking about where vaping will go over the next few years. My basic assumption is that the big tobacco companies, and possibly the drug companies, will get into this game soon. There's just too much money to be made here. Also, products will be needed to fill the vacuum of declining smoking rates which have actually been underway for quite some time. I'd be surprised if the big guys don't already have products well along in development. Here are a few thoughts/predictions based upon the large companies guys getting into this space. From my perspective, the good and the bad.

The Good

1. Products will get a lot better. Big companies have the resources to do it right. We will get devices and accessories that perform consistently every time. Product quality will increase dramatically. Products will be differentiated to allow consumers to zero in and get exactly what they want, e.g. flavor, nic, throat hit, form factor, cosmetics, etc. Products will get better and better, multi million dollar R&D budgets can do that.