SXK BB + SXK VapeSnail issue

Vaperon01

• Jul 29, 2023
    Hey all! As you read in the title I've had a billet box for a couple years. Usually I vaped using an Exocet clone but recently I decided to buy a new atomizer i.e. an SXK VapeSnail.
    I started playing around with builds and tried different. The most satisfying one was a Clapton Wire KA1 32ga + Ni80 26ga on 2.5mm ID.
    I've used this build two/three times, but this week while I was working on it (I use a Coil Master to test) I noticed that by putting the atomizer in the box, a value of around 0.05 ohm is read instead of the 0.50/0.60 ohm that I expected (and I would like to point out that the correct value is read on the Coil Master) .
    So I tried to check out what the problem could be, the only thing I noticed was a broken o-ring in the deck. But switching it with a new one didn't solve the problem.
    Another thing I noticed is that by slightly unscrewing the screw that welds the atomizer to the box, the ohm value goes from like 0.05 to 0.15 (I don't know if this is an useful information), but trying to fire in that moment results in a "Temperature protected" error message.
    Before doing something else (and risking to damage the atom) I would like to hear any suggestion, if you have.

Thank you for your attention, and obviously if you need more information just tell me! Thanks in advance :)

englishmick

Vaping Master
    Supporting Member
    ECF Veteran
    Verified Member
    Sep 25, 2014
    Naptown, Indiana
    Hard to tell at a distance but it sounds like you have a short of some kind. I have a vapesnail but haven't used it much.

Could be the coil is touching part of the deck. When you adjust the top piece it might be slightly moving something inside that is partly breaking the short. Or maybe the legs of the coil are sticking out from where they are attached and touching the metal outer part. I suggest checking the coil visually, then making another coil.