Questions about storage and shelf life and especially about nicotine solutions please.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Spydro

Sindoyen
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Apr 20, 2013
nowhither
Sorry if this is all covered elsewhere on this site. It runs terribly slow for me so takes forever to do research on.

Ready to get into DYI, so I ws happily going along making my list, counting it twice for DYI gear and supplies. I am new at this, still learning so taking it slow to make sure I do it right.

At the top of the list a Nicotine Test Kit, was a no brainer and found a source for one.
I set about figuring out in what quantities to buy of PG, VG and flavor; trying to figure out what strength/mix and quanity for nicotine solution.

Ran into a something that got me thinking about storage and shelf life ... something I read on the Wizard Lab site about their amber glass bottles...
"For long term storage of nicotine solutions we advise transferring the contents of bulk bottles into several smaller amber glass bottles before freezing."

So my most important questions are about the nicotine solutions (as they should be)...

I vape about 2ml per day so far at 6mg nicotine. So I was going to start with 36mg nicotine solution bought in larger quantity for the cost savings. Maybe later, maybe not with more experience higher mg solutions. Now I wonder about how long the storage/shelf life is because of the above. Woukd I have to freeze the nic solution if I buy it in larger qualtities for my low uesage?

Side question... how to do I decide between the nic solutions, 100% PG, 100% VG or a mixture of both, and why?

What about PG and VG? I was going to buy 500ml of each to start (I'll probably try a 70/30 + 5% flavor mix to start and work from there.

Thanks.

dannyv45

ECF DIY E-Liquid Guru
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Apr 12, 2013
New Jersey
www.e-cigarette-forum.com
To answer your storage question.