Police (stateside) and Vapes

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rocketpunk

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Aug 14, 2012
Dayton, Ohio
The first time I ever saw a vape was three years ago. My cousin had what looked like a bomb detonator in his hand with a tube attached to it.

He explained to me what it was, and I was fascinated, but not quite ready.

Now that I am, and I love vaping, sometimes I wonder... How many police officers are aware of e-cigs, and what they look like, mods included?

If I was a cop, or heck, even an average joe, and looked over and some dude is blowing "smoke" out of what looks like a high-tech crack pipe, I'd pull him over. [Edit: As a cop, not a citizen.)

That being said,

I was pulled over a couple of Sundays ago for having my license plate light out, and when he shined his flashlight over me he focused on the e-cig.

Of course, breaking no laws (except the licence plate light, which I honestly knew nothing about), I happily lifted it up and said, "Oh, this? This is just an electronic cigarette, officer, it's a nicotine delivery device."

He said, "Ok," ran my info, and let me go with no hassle.

So... If there are any cops on this forum (I respect your job SOOOO much!), could you tell me if you'd even once consider pulling someone over for vaping if you think maybe they're like, I dunno, smoking crack?

Are police trained lately to identify these things?

I get REALLY nervous vaping in my car when next to a cop. Even though I KNOW I've done nothing wrong, I still get super paranoid.

Last edited:

*deleon517*

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jun 29, 2012
s. florida
part of it is do you look suspect while doing it? i have vaped while driving,at redlights and even parked next to cops. only once was i questioned about it and it turned out he was a smoker and wanted to know if it really worked and where to buy from.....

this has been done using 510's, ego's, tube mods, and bottom feeders, all with cartos or tanks attached to them.