Please help me DIY <-- Total newb

Status
Not open for further replies.

sour green

Feb 15, 2011
Vancouver BC
I have just ordered my starter kit (510) and a flavourless DIY (pg-36mg 30ml) with some other e juice. I bought some e-juice (3x30ml of different flavors) in order to taste and feel what it is supposed to taste and feel like so I can try and mimic the taste and feel with my own juice. I would like to be able to make my own juice because small part of the reason I decided to vape over traditional smoke was to save money. So.. I was wondering how to cut the 36mg to 6mg. From what I understand and please correct me if I'm wrong (I don't want to die!!) I need to add 5 part VG to 1 part 36mg and add drops of flavorings?

cskent

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Jul 24, 2010
Ohio
Hi and welcome to ECF.
First, you won't die from vaping 36mg unflavored juice. Some people vape that strength all the time. You can get the nic level down to where you want it by using PG and/or VG, and flavoring. The easiest way to figure out what proportions you need is to use a calculator such as this one:

eJuice Recipe Calculator

It's pretty simple to use, but there are much more complex ones out there if you need additional features. Play with it and see if it tells you what you need to know.

markfm

Aussie Pup Wrangler
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jul 9, 2010
Beautiful Baldwinsville (CNY)
DIY e-liquid

Take a look at some of the material, including the Sticky by Purevapes (Nikhil):
http://www.e-cigarette-forum.com/forum/diy-e-liquid/74109-guide-diy-flavoring.html

Short answer, Yes, taking 36 mg/ml strength and cutting it 5:1 will result in 6 mg/ml.

VG by itself is quite thick, so normally you would want to use some distilled water (the stuff that's like $1 a gallon at grocery stores) or pure grain alcohol (I use a 160 vodka) to thin it slightly.

For flavorings, use the things talked about in Purevapes' sticky or the ones listed in the DIY calculator: