Please help me decide.. to switch or not

Status
Not open for further replies.

Blue73

Apr 8, 2014
Houston, TX
Hey guys,

I have been vaping for almost 4 years and went through the typical progression on hardware and juice. About 2 years ago, I settled down on the Subbox Mini mod and tank. It was (and I think still is) everything I need as a vaper. I don't cloud chase, I don't experiment with new flavors, I just vape (and enjoy it) as an alternative to analogs.

I diy my juice and I build my own coils using the Subbox mini RTA. I vape 1.1-1.2 ohm kanthal coils, Japanese organic cotton, at about 15.0-15.3 watts. I have 2 Subbox minis in which I keep two different flavor juices that I alternate during the day. Every evening, I re-wick my coil, and I'm good for another day. I build a new coil every 2 weeks. I found that these schedules provide me the most satisfying vape experience.

My dilemma is that the actual hardware I am using is starting to get old. The paint has well worn off in many areas, the threads are getting worn, the battery compartment has a couple cracks in the plastic from inadvertent drops over 2 years, the magnets are getting weak, etc. I need to get new hardware.

My question is, since I'm happy with my current hardware, and since I know all the idiosyncrasies of the Subbox Mini, since I have learned how to properly wick, etc, should I just stick with the same? Or am I missing out on something that's going to be much much better? If so, what do you recommend? Or is there something that will offer a similar experience to my subbox, but is more durable, cheaper, etc?

I appreciate your thoughts.

Reactions: Opinionated

MrStik

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Mar 6, 2013
SoCal