Newbie here from SF bay area (San Jose). Vamo v5 issues and rant about brick and mortar stores

Status
Not open for further replies.

Heartisan

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
May 30, 2010
North Cali
Totally get your frustration Snackwich!!
The B&M stores we have in the East Bay are Smoke Shops and/or Hookah shops who have decided to cash in on the ecig train. They don't know much about the products, and are super aggressive trying to sell their inferior,WAY overpriced products.
Most stores I've been in around the Bay Area carry tons of Egos (mostly Ego clones) Vamos, Siegeleis, etc. I own a couple Siegeleis, but purchased them to use when I go places - so I don't accidentally wreck my Provari or Buzz Pro. Nothing wrong with them, they're just a lower price, mass produced version of better quality mods.

Your description of that store employee (or Owner?) is dead on with what I've experienced at the B&M stores!! They don't know much about ecigs or how they work, and hardcore push whatever they have on the shelves. Prices are usually double what you can find online.
The two in my town - East Bay Area - at least have a decent selection of Kanger & IClear type tanks. 3/4 brand name, 1/4 knock offs. It's very nice to have somewhere to go if I just need a part or two. Having to go through the sales pitch for their mods EVERY time is annoying as hell, though. "No, I STILL don't want a Tesla or Vamo, Thank You" :facepalm:
I try to educate their staff a bit when I go in. I always feel bad that their Boss hasn't taught them anything! They appreciate it very much - the Boss of the larger store is usually at the bar next door :(

You seem to have a good bit of knowledge when it comes to the technical side of mods, thankfully! That helps so much when dealing with pushy salesmen peddling cheap products. I'm looking forward to the day when we get stores that mainly sell ecigs, and know how to use them!