Need help setting up my IGO-L with ekowool and kanthal ribbon wire

Status
Not open for further replies.

xHaZe

ECF Veteran
Aug 15, 2013
New York, NY, USA
I just ordered my first rba the IGO-L along with 2mm ekowool for wicking and some kanthal A-1 ribbon wire .5mm x .1mm. My goal is to wrap a coil approximately in the 1.5 - 2.0 ohm range. I searched the threads thoroughly before posting but could not find an answer for this specific setup with the equipment I currently have so I was hoping you guys could guide me here on how to achieve this. For starters, I plan on doubling up the ekowool wick by folding it over. Basically, I need to know what lengths to cut both the wick and wire and how many wraps around the wick should I make my coil for it to be 1.5 - 2.0 ohm? I have been vaping for quite a while but am a total newbie in the rba department. Thanks in advance.

minimalsaint

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Oct 4, 2012
Michigan
For starters, get yourself a multimeter and learn how to use it. There is no true "wrap xx times for xx ohms" answer. It can vary depending on how tight the coil is, how the coil wraps are spaced, and the length of the legs from coil to + / - posts. The short answer is that you will have to experiment a couple of times and test as you go. IMHO it is always better to wrap too many times so if your coil meters out at too high of a resistance level, you can always disconnect one leg and carefully take one wrap off, connect and test again.
With RBAs it is also a good idea to test your coils regularly (I test every other day) to be sure your resistance is staying the same and no shorts have occurred. Ribbon wire is a tricky beast because I have found that it doesn't take much pressure for it to slip out from under the terminal screws on the IGO posts. Loose wires can drastically change the resistance or even cause a short if you aren't careful.
What sort of device will you be using it on?

xHaZe

ECF Veteran
Aug 15, 2013