My first mod (and my first electronics project)

Status
Not open for further replies.

McDude

ECF Veteran
Nov 17, 2010
Oregon
I started vaping a couple months ago and up until about 2 weeks ago knew nothing about electronics. I'm a comp programmer so I can deal with logic, but electronics was just so much "black magic" as far as I have always been concerned. However, my new hobby (vaping) really piqued my interest in electronics - so I dived in, studying various modder posts and running electronic simulations to understand basic stuff like resistance, capacitance, voltage division, etc...

Here's the first "fruit" of my effort. It's a 5v mod with a MOSFET driven tactil switch stuffed into a 3xAAA box. The device has a master kill switch, tactile momentary, LED, and runs at 5V regulated. I could have used a regulator with a control pin or a variable volt regulator with an inhibit pin to support a low-amp switch, but I wanted to learn about MOSFETs and wanted some practice translating a schematic of my own to a component diagram for creating a circuit board.

This was a bunch of fun to build and I learned alot. Next project will be a variable output regulator using the inhibit pin (TI part) with a "normally closed" momentary - again, in a 3xAAA box. If anyone is interested I can post a complete tutorial on how the circuit was desigend and final version built including schematics and component placement diagrams. Like I said, 2-3 weeks ago I didn't even really understand what a resistor did in a circuit, now I can design mods - so really anyone can do it with some patience :)

Here is my prototype (about 2" x 2" running off a lab power block I created last week)
DSC02018.jpg

Here's the new circuit with my finger to show size - had to fit in part of one AAA battery slot in the box. I bent the MOSFET and the 5v regulator inward to reduce the length and also provide some support to the little tactile switch build onto the board.
DSC02045.jpg

Here's the installation