Not open for further replies.

Leothwyn

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
May 7, 2011
N. California
www.ci-studios.com
So, I'm new to this, and started out with my 510 mega not too long ago. I tried a few cart mods, then just settled on dripping. Then I thought I'd give the tank thing a try. So I picked up a 510 T LR atomizer (1.7 ohm), and I love it. The hits seem better, and there's less messing around with refilling my cart. It's been about a week, and so far I've had no problems. But, I just read something about LR atomizers being bad for smaller batteries like mine. Am I going to kill my battery? Am I left with the choice of either going back to my standard atomizers, or getting one of those big batteries that make me look like I'm playing a kazoo?

gernsey

Apr 16, 2009
Earth, Milky Way
The problem with the low resistance Atty or Cartos is that low of an Ohm rating will draw power more quickly from the battery, basically your increasing the AMP (current draw) on the battery. As well as depleting the charge faster.

I'm not familiar with your ECig or the Amp rating of it's battery but according to Ohms law
3.7v @ 1.7Ohms = 2.17 Amps

If you where running a 2.0 Ohm atty
3.7V @ 2.0 Ohms = 1.85 Amps.

So long as your voltage remains constant, increasing resistance = less current draw.

Probably the best way to know if you're OK is to find the Amp rating for your battery.

Last edited:

Leothwyn

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
May 7, 2011
N. California
www.ci-studios.com
Thank you for the reply. I generally don't think of myself as being especially dumb... but when it comes to this stuff...

So if my battery is 280mAH, does that mean 2.8 Amps?
Then based on what you said "3.7v @ 1.7Ohms = 2.17 Amps", I'm alright?

I understand that I'll drain the charge on my battery faster using the LR atty, and I'm fine with that. I was just concerned that I might fry my battery, or shorten its life drastically.