Issues with Lightning Vapes protank3 dual coil assembly-comes disassembled & not prebuilt-Help please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anubuk

ECF Veteran
Feb 11, 2014
A mountain top in Northern Ohio
I purchased 10 protank 3 dual coil assemblies from Lightning Vapes. I am having some issues with flooding.

Kanger Protank 3 Dual Coil Head Assembly - Whole Unit or Parts - Lightning Vapes

They see almost identical to kanger prebuilt coil heads, the differences seem cosmetic. I have been rebuilding my kanger coils for about 6 months now so my issues aren't from lack of experience.

No matter how i build it, it floods the coil area and gurgles. When i lift off the chimney my coils are swimming in juice. Doesn't matter how much liquid is in the tank or what material i build with. I have tried the extra silicone cap trick that works with single coil gurgle issue to no avail. i am not building any differently then when i rebuild actual Kanger heads.

Does anyone have experience building with these?

I am using a protank 3 with the airflow control base (I haven't tried using the regular base but I can't reason that being the issue). It is a dual coil build using 32g kanthal and 2mm readywick (I have also used cotton) It measures at 1.8 ohms.

Unlike the prebuilt dual coils I do not put a flavor wick in between the coils but rather on top. It is a pain in the ... trying to get a flavor wick in between and this is the way i have been doing since I started rebuilding kanger coil heads and have never had an issue.

Please someone who has had experience help me. This is driving me nuts. I thought I had found a affordable way to buy a ton of these heads for a great price that i build since i tear out the prebuilt coil when I get the regular ones. 10 for $10 or 25 for $20.

Only things left to try is to put a flavor wick in between the coils. I have stuffed some cotton on top of the flavor wick and while it isn't as bad it is still spitting hot juice into my mouth.