Implementing adjustable voltage

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nuck

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Feb 14, 2009
Ontario, Canada
I have tried and tested a fairly simple way of adding user adjustable voltage control to a mod. The pieces are pretty cheap (I got mine at digikey.com)

I'm still a real novice at the circuit stuff so I have to give credit to RjG for offering a TON of advice and suggestions on this and damn never every other problem I run into while modding.

Parts

LM317 chip (I used a TO 220 version so the pins I explain will use this one)
Digi-Key - LM317TFS-ND (Fairchild Semiconductor - LM317T)

220 ohm resistor
330 ohm resistor

500 ohm potentiometer (there are a bunch to select from, these ones are pretty cheap...next time I will get a better quality)
Digi-Key - 3306P-501-ND (Bourns Inc. - 3306P-1-501)

Notes: The resistors are used to set and control the voltage chip. You can use a wide range of values and will set the min and max voltage values. Here is a good site that lets you play with the values and shows the basic circuit.

LM 317 Calculator

Wiring

The capacitors for our application can safely be ignored so to get it nice and small I do the following:

Note: Orient the LM317 flat with the legs pointing at yourself to determine which pin is left in the following instructions.

1. Wire the 220 resistor between the left leg(adjustment pin) and the back plate (alternate voltage out)
  2. When looking at the potentiometer pins with the centre pin down, wire the 330 resistor between the left leg of the LM317 (adjustment pin) and the right pin on the potentiometer.
  3. Wire the centre pin of the potentiometer to a ground
  4. Wire the voltage supply to the right pin of the LM317 (voltage in)
  5. The voltage out can be picked up anywhere off the back plate of the LM317 or from the centre pin (voltage out) of the chip.