How I steep my juice (DIY speed steeping)

Status
Not open for further replies.

TommyG

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jan 12, 2012
Aurora, CO
I've been mixing for about 2 years, used to have a little side company that sold to retailers (no longer a vendor of any type, just so ECF admin knows lol), and I thought it might be helpful to share what I've come up with for speed steeping. Everything I mix comes in at over 80% VG, so sometimes a little shake can be a deceptive term/process, as the thick stuff doesn't take well to a simple shake like high PG juices might. I detailed this in one of my recipe posts, but wanted to throw it up here as it's own thread for those interested.

What you'll need:

Glass bottles (they handle heat better than plastic, plastic may be fine, but glass is safer)
Ultrasonic cleaner (Walmart/Target have suitable jewelery cleaners for about 30$)
Stove
Pot/pan
Cooking Thermometer (10$ at Walmart/Target)

After you've mixed your juice up, of course, give it a good shaking, and toss it into the UC for about an hour. Get your pot filled with enough water to reach just below the bottle(s) you want to steep, and heat it on the stove to 150f-160f. After you finish with the UC, set the bottles in your hot water for about 2 hours, check temp every 30 minutes to make sure it's holding steady. After 2 hours remove the heat, shake the bottles (may be hot), uncap, and leave in the water for 2 more hours. After everything has cooled, recap the bottles, and put back in the UC for 2 hours to over night.

The end result should be really close to 21-30 days (equivalent) steep time, and little to no perfume to the juice. In the event that you have one, a crock pot works well in place of a stove/pot. I do this when I'm mixing for my friends, or small bottles for myself (60ml or less).

OcalaFlGuy

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Apr 4, 2015
Ocala, Fl
I'm just a nOOb but I listen well in class too.