Got pulled over last night with e-cig

Status
Not open for further replies.

radicaljd

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jun 16, 2010
San Antonio, Texas
tstcvap-er, that's a heck of a question.

Terry v. Ohio grants officers great leeway with regards to what is "probable cause."

I'm a lawyer, so I will try to briefly address this... Terry v. Ohio first established the concept of "reasonable suspicion" a lower standard than "probable cause."

Reasonable suspicion allows an officer to briefly detain a person and investigate whether criminal activity is afoot. It does NOT justify a full-blown search, but if an officer is reasobably suspicious that a person may have weapons, then the officer may do a "pat down" for weapons. That does not include puting his hands in your pocket or doing anything other than patting down the outside of the person only to the extent that it is necessary to determine that the person has no weapons.

Terry v. Ohio did not change or address what standard of proof is required to establish "probable cause." But if the officer's brief investigation results in additional evidence sufficient to establish probable cause, then the officer can arrest the person or conduct a search.

But the key to Terry is that the detention must be "brief," unless the person consents otherwise. What is brief? It depends on the circumstances, but I can tell you that I had a case where I successfully argued that a 15-minute detention that resulted in my client's arrest (time to get a drug-sniffing dog) was excessive, and the evidence was suppressed and case dismissed.