Concern about Alcohol in e-liquids...

Status
Not open for further replies.

girtablilu

Sep 28, 2010
Abilene, Texas
I like that idea, SimpleSins. I work in the field and would be very interested to see about the breathalyzers. The amount of alcohol in the ejuice is so small that it should have no effect on the body as VeeDubb explained. And I know with a UA it would not show up because there is a cutoff level it has to exceed to be "positive".

eeMGee

Unregistered Supplier
ECF Veteran
As far as alcohol absorbtion into the body, I am not concerned, as others have pointed out the quantity total of alcohol is very small, plus its a different mechanism; ingesting alcoholic drinks versus inhaling alcohol vapor. The point as well about alcohol being present in flavorings is true. Take a look at a bottle of Vanilla extract, or similar; typically is 30% alcohol. But again, we use maybe 1mL of that in 10mL of liquid, it is negligible from a soberiety point of view.

The question of breathilyzers concerns me however. I was recently arrested on suspicion of DUI. I had been vaping all night, and even took a drag right before the road side test.

These tests are very sensitive, and the machines reject samples for example due to contaminants in the air like paint fumes. My concern is that vaping the alcohol, it is directly in your breath and coating the lungs; even though not entering much into the blood stream. The breath test is based on breath and might be biased by vaping.

I own a small keychain breathalyzer. It is certainly not guaranteed to give a legal result... however, given my situation, I tried it stone sober while vaping. Most of the time it didn't register, however if I took a drag and exhalled it directly into the device it did hit positive.

That would suggest that on its own vaping would not put you over on a test, however if you were close to the limit (0.08 in most US) the little extra coating your lungs could make you fail.

VeeDubb65

ECF Veteran