Cleaning my tanks

Status
Not open for further replies.

buildabane

Sep 11, 2014
St. Louis, MO
I am relatively new to vaping, but I am current using a Kanger Pro 2 mini as my primary tank. I have an Aspire BDC (I don't use it, because I only have a 900mah eGo battery, and it drains it in less than three hours). Then I have my backups, an E1-W (Metal cover plastic tank, works decent) and another tank that is not labelled but was just given to me.

How should I clean these tanks and how often? Would rinsing them under warm water, then soaking them in rubbing alcohol work (then another rinse and an air dry). I have two coils for my Pro 2 mini - One is for fruity flavored, and the other is for heavy, non fruity stuff (right now loaded with delicious vanilla tobacco flavoring). Should I soak the coils in alcohol?

Aside from taking them apart and rinsing them, I have little knowledge of cleaning tanks.

Any help appreciated! :)

Avid

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Cleaning the coils in alcohol should be fine, though I usually just run hot water through my BDC's, blow out and then let air dry. As for the tanks, I only have glass ones which I clean in mildly soapy water if I'm changing flavors or just a rinse if I'm putting the same flavor back in. I'm not sure that cleaning plastic tanks with alcohol is a good idea. If you rinse them but can't get the smell/flavor out, maybe a soak in warm water with a small amount of baking soda might work.

Bumping for someone who knows for sure to answer!

buildabane

Sep 11, 2014
St. Louis, MO
New info. I now use a Kanger ProTank 2 Mini - Got one from a local shop for under $10, and it came with two coils. This is perfect because I can use one coil for my fruity flavors, and one for my dark vanilla tobacco flavor (best thing ever). I know I will have to replace the coils eventually, but for now I am wondering about cleaning.

Here is my procedure:
1) disassemble and run each part under hot water