Status
Not open for further replies.

sonicbomb

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Feb 17, 2015
1187 Hundertwasser
I just built my first clapton coil after some trepidation about how difficult it would be to build and what my target resistance would be.
I was pleasantly surprised how easy the build was, and further surprised by the realization that the core wire provides the main guide to the end resistance. In retrospect this seems pretty obvious. Electricity follows the path of least resistance, meaning the the wrapped wire just adds additional mass and surface area.
The flavour and vapor production is excellent, and the need for super high wattage devices has become far clearer to me. I was only able to push 60 watts through this baby coil, it needed more.
I'm an engineer and I should know better. It's not until you build/repair something that it's inherent function becomes clear.

26G wrapped wrapped with 32G ID3mm at 0.49ohms on a Mutation X V3
MrkIYOn.jpg

yuseffuhler

Ultra Member
Mar 28, 2015
Houghton, MI
I just built my first clapton coil after some trepidation about how difficult it would be to build and what my target resistance would be.
I was pleasantly surprised how easy the build was, and further surprised by the realization that the core wire provides the main guide to the end resistance. In retrospect this seems pretty obvious. Electricity follows the path of least resistance, meaning the the wrapped wire just adds additional mass and surface area.
The flavour and vapor production is excellent, and the need for super high wattage devices has become far clearer to me. I was only able to push 60 watts through this baby coil, it needed more.
I'm an engineer and I should know better. It's not until you build/repair something that it's inherent function becomes clear.

26G wrapped wrapped with 32G ID3mm at 0.49ohms on a Mutation X V3
MrkIYOn.jpg