Building Wicks: Electricity, volts, ohms and watts. How it all fits together.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Ok, I'm new to vaping, but not so new to electrics.

Here's what I know, and how I think it fits together. If you see anything that seems incorrect or inconsistent, by all means call me out!

I'm writing this because in all the threads I've read, there's one thing missing: How power (wattage) is APPLIED to the e-liquid.

First, the equations. Thank you Mr. Watt and Mr. Ohm.

"Ohm's Law" -
V = I x R
aka, Voltage = Current x Resistance
aka, Volts = Amps x Ohms

"Watt's Law" -
P = V x I
aka, Power = Voltage x Amperage
aka, Watts = Volts x Amps

Combine the two laws, and the result is:
P = V x ( V / R )
aka P = V^2 / R
aka Power = Voltage-squared divided by Resistance
aka Watts = Volts-squared divided by Ohms

All very nice and neat.

Now apply it to a wick:

If you use a short piece of fat wire, the resistance will be very low. There's very little length for the voltage to have to push its way through, and the "pipe" is plenty wide.

If you use a longer wire, or a thinner one, there's more length to push through, and a narrower cross-section to push through. Thus more resistance. And if the resistance goes up, the power (wattage) goes down (for a constant voltage).

Less power means less vapor. So why on earth would we want anything other than short little fat wires? That would offer the lowest resistance, right? And thus the highest power, right?

Well, sure, but it's only applied to a very small amount of e-liquid. So unless your wick is, well, "wicking" very very well, you're going to dry up and be heating, well... nothing, with all that power.

So, it's a trade-off. We want to heat a lot of liquid to get a lot of vapor. We also want to heat it quickly, and to a sufficient temperature.