Bad chemical taste

Status
Not open for further replies.

mikecup

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Sep 9, 2010
Peninsula, Ohio
I need some help here. I have been vapping for over 2 years and decided to try to make my own juice.

I purchased 100mg nic juice (pg base), bottle of pg and vg, some TFA favoring (ry4,black cherry,bubble
gum,and some sweetener). All from Myfreedomsmokes.

I mixed up 10ml using the basic calculator.
18% nic
60% pg
12% vg
10% ry4

I get good vapor, TH and flavor.

But I am getting a nasty after taste, very chemical tasting. It's so bad I cannot vape thru a full carto. And It takes hours for the taste to go away.

I'm at a loss here, not sure if something is bad, if that's possible I don't know, or if maybe I'm using to much pg. I know this will take time to get a good mix but it sure is not starting out to good.
There is a date on the nicotine bottle Dec 4, 2012. I called and Justin told me that date was when it was made.

Any help or suggestions would be great.

Hoosier

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Jan 26, 2010
Indiana
What does it taste like if you do the same mix without any flavoring? (Your nic will be 20mg with all the other components at the same volume measurement.)

I ask because 10% TPA RY4 is not high from reports by others and if it is coming from something else, you could spend quite a bit of time chasing flavoring levels when it may not be the cause.

mikecup

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Sep 9, 2010
Peninsula, Ohio
Ok I just mixed up 5ml 18% nic, 70%pg and 12%vg. No flavoring at all.
I just vapped thru 20drops in my eternity.
No real chemical taste anymore, a slight odd taste nothing major though.
I guess 10% ry4 is to strong for me, I have other flavors I can try.
I never expected the flavoring to produce such a nasty taste, I know now to start with a very low amount first.
Thanks for the help.

mikecup

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Sep 9, 2010
Peninsula, Ohio