Are Handmade Coils Really Better?

Trent Erikson

• Nov 5, 2013
    Chicago, IL
    I've been vaping for the past 10 years and I've seen a lot of incarnations of the industry but the last few years I've noticed a particular group of vapers making their own coils. I get the allure, manufactured coils are terrible and often burn out within a day or two, but is the taste and longevity of your home made coils actually better? Or is this just something they say to justify the work involved in making them at home?

Are they really better than manufactured coils?

Mordacai

Vaping Master
    ECF Veteran
    Jan 16, 2019
    UK
    For simple coils (round and flat wire), it's easy and considerably cheaper.

Complex coils are more difficult, but they can be tailored to your requirements if you're making them yourself.

The only other option there is finding someone that hand builds coils and because that's a bespoke service there can be a wait and more costly.

DavidOck

ECF Guru
    Supporting Member
    ECF Veteran
    Jan 3, 2013
    Halfway to Paradise, WA

When the factory stops making them, yep. Or when the FDA stops allowing them to be purchased...

I build because I like to be not reliant on any supply chain. Slow boat? No problem, I have spools of the wire I use, lots of rayon. (And I do diy my juice, nic on ice for the rest of my life unless I make it past 100.)

As a low power tootler, simple coils work fine for me. Pennies per coil, and with a clean and rewick, good for quite a long time.

Trent Erikson

• Nov 5, 2013
    Chicago, IL
    When the factory stops making them, yep. Or when the FDA stops allowing them to be purchased...

I build because I like to be not reliant on any supply chain. Slow boat? No problem, I have spools of the wire I use, lots of rayon. (And I do diy my juice, nic on ice for the rest of my life unless I make it past 100.)