New to rebuilding / Battery questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

hunterrhuskyy

Mar 18, 2015
Hello like I said I'm new to rebuilding, I recently ordered an Akuma 18650 and 18350 cylinder.
I am looking to buy one 18650 battery and one 18350 as well as a charger for both of them.
I was shopping for those online and found a TrustFire TR-001 along with two AW IMR 18350 700 mAh Li MN batteries for $22.99.
I am going to be using a Plume Veil clone and I do not know what ohm coil build to use or pretty much anything, any helpful beginner info is very much appreciated!

Rickw57

ECF Veteran
Mar 20, 2015
Haarlem
Don't get the trustfire. Go for something like a Sony vtc4/vtc5 or Samsung 25r or Efest 35A.

As for a build on your plume veil, it depends on what you want. Do you want high ohms, low ohms?

I generally build dual coil 24awg at around 0.35 ohm. If you make a single coil, it would be 0.7 ohm.

For a charger, I'd got for a intellicharger i2 or a Um20 from nitecore.

Last edited:

Susan~S

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Mar 12, 2014
Mpls/St.Paul, MN
Two thumbs down on the Trustfires. If you need a 30A CDR battery the Sony VTC4 is a good choise. There are no "Authentic" VTC5's available at any of the reputable battery suppliers.

Instead of getting the AW IMR 18350 700mAh 6A CDR get instead the AW IMR 18350 800mAh 12A CDR. Double the CDR compared to the one you mentioned.

I highly recommend you spend some time with Baditude (one of our resident battery experts) and visit his blogs. You are now 100% in control of your own safety (and others around you). Make sure you purchase an ohm reader and a voltmeter or DMM so you can measure your builds, check for shorts and measure the remaining charge on your batteries.

Baditudes Blogs. The blogs that address battery safety, Ohm's Law, CDR (continuous discharge rating/Amps) and how they all work together are detailed below:

BATTERIES

Battery Basics for Mods: IMR or Protected ICR?