Clapton coil resistance goes up on first fire

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rich2681

Apr 5, 2018
Hey Guys,

Okay so I am new to wrapping my own coils. I have an Innokin mvp4 regulated mod and a new Geekvape Zeus RTA. I bought some geekvape N80 fused clapton wire and am using that on a 3mm screwdriver to wrap my coils. My first coil wrap is a 3mm ID and 5 wraps.
My question is when I inserted the coil into the deck it first read 0.11 ohms. I fired up my mod on 28 watts to pulse the coil and clean up hotspots and get the coil firing nicely. After firing a couple of times and getting the coil to heat up evenly the resistance when up to 0.23 ohms. It seems to be somewhat stable now at 0.23.but sometimes goes up to 0.24 then back down to 0.23 ohms.

Is this normal?

Izan

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Jul 1, 2012
Mallorca, Spain
Hey Guys,

Okay so I am new to wrapping my own coils. I have an Innokin mvp4 regulated mod and a new Geekvape Zeus RTA. I bought some geekvape N80 fused clapton wire and am using that on a 3mm screwdriver to wrap my coils. My first coil wrap is a 3mm ID and 5 wraps.
My question is when I inserted the coil into the deck it first read 0.11 ohms. I fired up my mod on 28 watts to pulse the coil and clean up hotspots and get the coil firing nicely. After firing a couple of times and getting the coil to heat up evenly the resistance when up to 0.23 ohms. It seems to be somewhat stable now at 0.23.but sometimes goes up to 0.24 then back down to 0.23 ohms.

Is this normal?
Hi Richard,
Re-tighten your grub/screws after the "pulse".
Do you have another device to check resistance or only the Innokin mod?

Cheers
I

bombastinator

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Sep 12, 2010
MN USA
Hi Richard,

Cheers
I
Certainly can’t hurt and is good general practice to do. Mods and even most standard ohm testers generally aren’t actually accurate to .01 ohm though even though they purport to measure it so it’s most likely stable I think

Rich2681

Apr 5, 2018